Where To Apply › Places - who publishes them
Places - who publishes them
Figures are on the current UCAT scale of 2700 unless a cell says otherwise.
Places - who publishes them
Place numbers are set and published by a funding regulator, not by the university acting commercially. Which regulator depends on the nation. Use the right one when challenging a refusal of place numbers.
Which regulator publishes place numbers
| Nation | Regulator | What is published | Status |
|---|
| England | Office for Students | Medical and dental maximum fundable limits per provider, split into anticipated home and anticipated overseas students | Verified 14 September 2026, tables below |
| Scotland | Scottish Funding Council, in liaison with NHS Scotland | Intake targets for medicine and for dentistry, per university, for each academic year, covering Scottish, rest of UK, Republic of Ireland and international students together | Verified 19 September 2026, tables below. Confirmed by Edinburgh in FOI2026/00627 |
| Wales | Welsh Government funding body, not the OfS | No per-university table equivalent to the OfS or SFC one. Cardiff states its own total in its admissions information document; the Welsh Government states the Bangor intake in its own announcements; Swansea publishes nothing | Checked 19 September 2026. Do not cite the OfS to Bangor, Cardiff or Swansea - the OfS has no remit in Wales and those providers do not appear in its tables |
| Northern Ireland | Department of Health and Department for the Economy, Northern Ireland | No published per-university table. Queen's states its own place numbers in its Admission Policy Statements for Medicine and for Dentistry | Checked 19 September 2026. Medicine 236 home and 36 international for 2026 entry; dentistry 15 international with the home figure not stated. Do not cite the OfS to Queen's Belfast or Ulster |
Why this matters for the campaign
| Point | Detail |
|---|
| Question 7 refusals | Several institutions refused the number of funded places under section 43(2) as commercially sensitive. For English providers that figure is published by the regulator, against the provider's name, split by fee group, for the years requested and prospectively. A commercial sensitivity argument over a published figure is very hard to sustain. |
| The figures are forward looking | The OfS states the 2025-26 limits also apply for 2026-27 and beyond unless government asks for changes, so the argument that future place numbers are unknown or sensitive does not hold either. |
| Cambridge pointed here itself | In FOI-2026-785 Cambridge answered question 7 by directing the campaign to this OfS publication. An institution has therefore confirmed, in an FOI response, that place numbers are published by the regulator. |
| Coverage limit | English providers only. Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish schools are funded and published separately. |
Medicine - OfS maximum fundable limits, 2025-26 entry cohort (England)
| Provider | Maximum fundable limit | Anticipated home | Anticipated overseas |
|---|
| Anglia Ruskin University | 128 | 128 | None stated |
| Aston University | 110 | 110 | None stated |
| University of Birmingham | 408 | 380 | 28 |
| Universities of Brighton and Sussex | 207 | 197 | 10 |
| University of Bristol | 287 | 268 | 19 |
| Brunel University London | 53 | 53 | None stated |
| University of Cambridge | 313 | 291 | 22 |
| University of Lancashire (UCLan) | 56 | 56 | None stated |
| University of Chester | 55 | 55 | None stated |
| University of East Anglia | 235 | 222 | 13 |
| Edge Hill University | 63 | 63 | None stated |
| University of Exeter | 228 | 218 | 10 |
| Universities of Hull and York | 239 | 228 | 11 |
| Imperial College London | 295 | 271 | 24 |
| Imperial College London: Pears Cumbria School | 58 | 58 | None stated |
| Keele University | 171 | 161 | 10 |
| Universities of Kent and Canterbury Christ Church | 109 | 109 | None stated |
| King's College London | 376 | 346 | 30 |
| King's College London: Portsmouth Medical School | 67 | 67 | None stated |
| Lancaster University | 134 | 130 | 4 |
| University of Leeds | 294 | 275 | 19 |
| University of Leicester | 293 | 275 | 18 |
| University of Nottingham: Lincoln Medical School | 84 | 84 | None stated |
| University of Liverpool | 345 | 322 | 23 |
| University of Manchester | 401 | 373 | 28 |
| Newcastle University | 369 | 343 | 26 |
| University of Nottingham | 375 | 350 | 25 |
| University of Oxford | 200 | 186 | 14 |
| University of Plymouth | 173 | 167 | 6 |
| Queen Mary, University of London | 374 | 350 | 24 |
| City St George's, University of London | 280 | 261 | 19 |
| University of Sheffield | 315 | 297 | 18 |
| University of Southampton | 278 | 260 | 18 |
| University of Sunderland | 117 | 117 | None stated |
| University of Surrey | 34 | 34 | None stated |
| University College London | 337 | 313 | 24 |
| University of Warwick | 203 | 190 | 13 |
| University of Worcester | 62 | 62 | None stated |
| TOTAL | 8126 | 7670 | 456 |
Dentistry - OfS maximum fundable limits, 2025-26 entry cohort (England)
| Provider | Maximum fundable limit | Anticipated home | Anticipated overseas |
|---|
| University of Birmingham | 71 | 67 | 4 |
| University of Bristol | 71 | 67 | 4 |
| University of Lancashire (UCLan) | 29 | 28 | 1 |
| University of East Anglia | 25 (from 2027-28) | 25 (from 2027-28) | None stated |
| King's College London | 148 | 141 | 7 |
| University of Leeds | 76 | 72 | 4 |
| University of Liverpool | 72 | 68 | 4 |
| University of Manchester | 71 | 67 | 4 |
| Newcastle University | 71 | 67 | 4 |
| University of Plymouth | 58 | 55 | 3 |
| University of Portsmouth | 25 (from 2027-28) | 25 (from 2027-28) | None stated |
| Queen Mary, University of London | 71 | 67 | 4 |
| University of Sheffield | 71 | 67 | 4 |
| TOTAL | 859 (from 2027-28) | 816 (from 2027-28) | 43 |
Checks against figures supplied under FOI
| University | FOI figure | OfS figure | Read |
|---|
| Brighton and Sussex | 197 home, 10 international, 207 total | 207 / 197 / 10 | Exact match |
| Anglia Ruskin | 128 | 128 | Exact match |
| Exeter | 228 | 228 | Exact match |
| Lancaster | 134 | 134 | Exact match |
| Liverpool medicine | 292 home and 23 international for A100, plus 33 for A101 | 345 / 322 / 23 | Overseas matches exactly. Home 322 against 292 plus 33, so the OfS limit covers all medicine programmes at the provider rather than one course code |
| Bristol | 251 home, 19 overseas | 287 / 268 / 19 | Overseas matches exactly. Home differs, again because the OfS limit is provider level across all medicine programmes |
| Liverpool dentistry | up to 72 home, up to 4 international | 72 / 68 / 4 | Discrepancy worth noting: Liverpool describes 72 as the home number, the OfS records 72 as the total with 68 home |
Source
Office for Students, medical and dental maximum fundable limits, 2025-26 entry cohort, read 14 September 2026. The OfS states these also apply for 2026-27 and beyond unless government asks for further changes
Medicine - Scottish Funding Council intake targets, academic year 2025-26 (Scotland)
| University | Intake target | Basis | Note |
|---|
| University of Aberdeen | 298 | All fee groups together | Set by the SFC in liaison with NHS Scotland |
| University of Dundee | 220 | All fee groups together | Set by the SFC in liaison with NHS Scotland |
| University of Edinburgh | 326 | All fee groups together | Set by the SFC in liaison with NHS Scotland |
| University of Glasgow | 346 | All fee groups together | Set by the SFC in liaison with NHS Scotland |
| University of St Andrews | 157 | All fee groups together | Set by the SFC in liaison with NHS Scotland |
| ScotGEM (Dundee and St Andrews) | 70 | All fee groups together | Set by the SFC in liaison with NHS Scotland |
| TOTAL | 1417 | 1,339 home, rest of UK and Republic of Ireland, plus 78 international | SFC announcement, AY 2025-26 |
Dentistry - Scottish Funding Council intake targets, academic year 2025-26 (Scotland)
| University | Intake target | Home, rest of UK and RoI | International |
|---|
| University of Aberdeen | 23 | 22 | 1 |
| University of Dundee | 62 | 51 | 11 |
| University of Glasgow | 87 | 72 | 15 |
| TOTAL | 172 | 145 | 27 |
Wales and Northern Ireland - what each school states itself
| School | Figure | Basis | Source |
|---|
| Cardiff, medicine | About 300 in year 1 including UK and overseas, of which about 25 overseas | A100 and A101 together | Cardiff admissions information document, updated 16 September 2026 |
| Swansea, graduate entry medicine | Unknown | Not published | Swansea course pages |
| Bangor, North Wales Medical School | 80 in 2024, rising to 140 a year from 2029-30 | Both routes together; the 2026 figure is not stated | Welsh Government announcement |
| Queen's Belfast, medicine | 236 home and 36 international | A100, 2026 entry | Admission Policy Statement for Medicine for 2026 Entry |
| Queen's Belfast, dentistry | 15 international; home figure not stated | A200, 2026 entry | Admission Policy Statement for Dentistry for 2026 Entry |
| Ulster, graduate entry medicine | Unknown | Not published | No figure published by the university or the Department of Health |
Republic of Ireland
| Point | Detail |
|---|
| Who sets the numbers | Places are set nationally through the Higher Education Authority and allocated through the CAO framework, not by each university |
| What is published | No per-university table equivalent to the OfS or SFC one has been located |
Sources: Office for Students medical and dental maximum fundable limits; Scottish Funding Council University Intake Targets for Medicine AY 2025-26 and for Dentistry AY 2025-26; Cardiff University admissions information for studying Medicine; Welsh Government announcement on the North Wales Medical School; Queen's University Belfast Admission Policy Statements for Medicine and for Dentistry 2026 entry. Read 19 September 2026.