CTU

Entry CriteriaUK and Ireland, medicine, GEM and dentistry

Where To Apply › Graduate entry medicine › Cambridge

Cambridge — Graduate entry medicine

Figures are on the current UCAT scale of 2700 unless a cell says otherwise.

Cambridge - Medicine (Graduate Course)

MB BChir Medicine Graduate Course (A101)

How this university scores applications, with the figures it publishes.

High level summary

Simple summary. Excruciating detail below.

QuestionAnswer
Is there a score to clear?Not published. No score can be called safe or out of reach here. Treat figures from other sources with care.
How to read the UCAT figures hereA lowest score and an average are both published. Judge yourself against the average. The lowest is one person.
What else countsDegree subject and class are a requirement in their own right. Details below. GCSEs are a gate. Meeting the minimum is what counts; beating it earns nothing. The SJT band does not affect shortlisting.
NoteFor 2027 entry Cambridge uses the cognitive part of the UCAT only and does not use the situational judgement score at all. It used the SJT at shortlisting for 2025 entry and at the offer stage for 2026 entry, so older advice about SJT bands at Cambridge is out of date.

Summary of the selection model

ItemDetail
Admissions test acceptedUCAT
GAMSAT requirementNot used
UCAT thresholdNo minimum threshold, stated in terms by Cambridge. For 2027 entry Cambridge looks at the overall cognitive subtest score only and states it will NOT use the situational judgement score as part of its assessment. History: for September 2025 entry the SJT was used at shortlisting alongside the cognitive total, with candidates progressing to interview generally in the top 50 per cent of UCAT scores and in SJT bands 1 to 3; for September 2026 entry the cognitive total and SJT were applied when making offers rather than when selecting for interview.
UCAT lowest accepted2025 entry, of 3600. Lowest OFFER HOLDER: 2440 home, 2730 international, the home figure sitting on the fourth decile of the 2024 test cycle, about 1810 on the current scale. Lowest APPLICANT: 1970 home, 1920 international A101 graduate entry, September 2025 entry (of 3600): lowest offer holder 2390 home and 2410 international, lowest applicant 1910 home. The home offer figure is about 1770 on the current scale.
UCAT average accepted2025 entry, of 3600. Mean applicants 2901 home, 2842 international. Mean offer holders 3081 home, 3207 international. Highest offer holder 3530 home Approximate current-scale equivalents, out of 2700: 2901 is about 2160, 2842 is about 2110.
Admissions test - how it is usedSeptember 2025 entry: overall cognitive subtest score and SJT both used when selecting for interview, with candidates progressing to interview generally in the top 50 per cent of UCAT scores and in SJT bands 1 to 3. September 2026 entry: cognitive total and SJT both used, but applied when making offers - Cambridge states there is no minimum threshold and the UCAT does not help decide who to interview. 2027 entry: cognitive subtest score only, with the situational judgement score not used at all.
Interview formatRun by the individual Colleges, not centrally
Scoring approachA mixture of academic record, UCAT and interview. No cut-off score, no weighting and no shortlisting points. No conversion of GCSE grades into points
Data statusComplete for 2025 entry, split by domicile at applicant and offer stage. 1530 A100 applications, 307 offers, 270 acceptances

A101 total cognitive UCAT, September 2025 entry (of 3600)

StageHome minHome meanHome maxIntl min
All applicants19102620.7933401940
Offer holders23902907.9333402410

A101 by subtest, September 2025 entry (each subtest of 900)

Stage and subtestHome minHome meanHome maxIntl min
Applicants - Verbal Reasoning460639.71880440
Applicants - Decision Making420649.86890510
Applicants - Abstract Reasoning450667.93890440
Applicants - Quantitative Reasoning440663.29900530
Applicants - SJT band12.1141
Offer holders - Verbal Reasoning570701.03880580
Offer holders - Decision Making600736.55880590
Offer holders - Abstract Reasoning580736.21890590
Offer holders - Quantitative Reasoning590734.14900610
Offer holders - SJT band11.6631

How the UCAT is used, in Cambridge's own words

Course and entry yearWhat Cambridge says
A101, entry 2025Cognitive total and SJT both used when selecting for interview. 'Candidates who progress to interview will generally be in the top 50% of UCAT scores and be in SJT Bands 1-3'
A101, entry 2026Cognitive total and SJT used when making offers. 'There is no minimum threshold for UCAT score and it does not help us decide who to interview'

A101 Medicine Graduate Course volumes by College, apply year 2025

CollegeAll applicationsDirectOpenAll offers
Hughes Hall4434109
Lucy Cavendish4316278
St Edmund's3920199
Wolfson4614329
TOTAL172848835

Source

University of Cambridge FOI response FOI-2026-785, 14 September 2026 ; University of Cambridge published undergraduate admissions statistics dashboard, apply year 2025, read 14 September 2026 (the source cited in FOI-2026-785) ; Medical Schools Council course page for A101, read 21 September 2026, confirming for 2027 entry that there is no minimum UCAT threshold and that the situational judgement score will not be used

Entry requirements

ItemDetail
CountryEngland
Course (UCAS code)MB BChir Medicine Graduate Course (A101)
Degree requirementNot stated in the FOI response
GCSENo conversion to points and no weighting applied
A levelNot stated in the FOI response

Volumes, places and competition

ItemDetail
Applications172
Offers35
Previous years - application year and UCAT or GAMSAT figureSeptember 2025 entry (of 3600), total cognitive UCAT. Home applicants 1910 / 2621 / 3340; international applicants 1940 / 2670 / 3270. Home offer holders 2390 / 2908 / 3340; international offer holders 2410 / 2810 / 3250 Volumes, apply year 2025: 172 applications (84 direct, 88 open), 35 offers, 28 acceptances, across the four mature Colleges only. Approximate current-scale equivalents, out of 2700: 2621 is about 1940, 2670 is about 1970, 2390 is about 1770, 2908 is about 2160, 2410 is about 1780, 2810 is about 2080.

How the UCAT is turned into a score

ItemDetail
Is a UCAT points conversion published?No points conversion has been published. What the University does say about the UCAT is in the row below.
How the UCAT is used, in the University’s own wordsSeptember 2025 entry: overall cognitive subtest score and SJT both used when selecting for interview, with candidates progressing to interview generally in the top 50 per cent of UCAT scores and in SJT bands 1 to 3. September 2026 entry: cognitive total and SJT both used, but applied when making offers - Cambridge states there is no minimum threshold and the UCAT does not help decide who to interview. 2027 entry: cognitive subtest score only, with the situational judgement score not used at all.

Entry requirements and places, as shown on the comparison table

ItemDetail
Scottish Highers / Advanced HighersNot applicable or not published
English languageUnknown
Figures coverNo volumes published
PlacesUnknown
Places - provider total291 (Office for Students maximum fundable limit, anticipated home students, 2025-26 entry cohort. This is the provider total across A100 and A101 and is not split between them)
SJT - how the band is usedNot used for 2027 entry. Cambridge states it will look at the overall cognitive subtest score and will not use the situational judgement score as part of its assessment. It was used at shortlisting for September 2025 entry and at the offer stage for September 2026 entry.