Where To Apply › Undergraduate medicine › Bristol
Bristol — Undergraduate medicine
Figures are on the current UCAT scale of 2700 unless a cell says otherwise.
Bristol - Medicine
MBChB Medicine (A100)
How this university scores applications, with the figures it publishes.
High level summary
Simple summary. Excruciating detail below.
| Question | Answer |
|---|
| Is there a score to clear? | No. Applicants are put in order by UCAT score and the university works down the list until the interview places run out. The line moves with the field each year. Any contextual adjustment is below. |
| How to read the UCAT figures here | Only the lowest score is published. It belongs to one applicant, usually one who was strong somewhere else. Matching it is not the same as being competitive. |
| What else counts | GCSEs are a gate. Meeting the minimum is what counts; beating it earns nothing.
The SJT band does not affect shortlisting. |
| The odds | Of every 100 who applied, about 53 were interviewed and about 45 were offered a place.
(All applicants, entry September 2025 (FOI2627-023). Interviewed counts those who ATTENDED - Bristol does not hold the number invited.) |
| Where it is decided | Both stages. About half the field goes before interview, so the score and the interview each do half the work.
Of those interviewed, about 86 in 100 were offered a place. |
Where the interview cut fell, 2026 entry (of 2700)
| Applicant group | Score |
|---|
| Home | 2240 |
| Overseas | 2270 |
How the UCAT is weighted
| Component | Weighting at shortlisting |
|---|
| Total cognitive UCAT | 100 per cent |
| Situational Judgement Test | Not used at all |
| GCSE | Maths 7 (advanced numeracy) and English 4 (standard literacy) |
| A level or equivalent | Checked against the minimum requirement only, not scored |
| Personal statement | Not weighted - final tiebreak only |
Order of use
| Stage | Detail |
|---|
| Academic check | Predicted or achieved grades must meet the minimum entry requirements |
| Shortlisting | Ranked on total cognitive UCAT, 100 per cent weighting, interviews allocated down the ranking |
| Interview | Online interview, assessors question and mark separately, December to February |
| Tiebreak 1 | UCAT is the primary differentiator when interview scores are identical |
| Tiebreak 2 | Personal statement only if interview and UCAT scores are equal |
Places, from FOI2627-023
| Group | Places |
|---|
| Home | 251 |
| Overseas | 19 |
| Note | Bristol gave one pair of figures without saying which cycle they cover |
Important
| Point | Detail |
|---|
| There is no cut-off score | Bristol states the number used as a threshold changes year on year with the strength of the cohort, so a specific score cannot be relied on to predict an invitation |
| The SJT does not count here | Unusual - most schools use it as a gate or a tiebreak. At Bristol it is excluded from the shortlisting score entirely |
Summary of the selection model
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Scoring approach | Ranked on total cognitive UCAT once the academic minimum is met, with a 100 per cent weighting and no separate points for GCSEs or A levels. The SJT is not used at any stage of shortlisting. The personal statement is no longer a weighted component and now serves only as a final tiebreak when interview and UCAT scores are equal |
| UCAT - how it is used | Applicants who meet the minimum academic requirements are then scored on the UCAT alone - a 100 per cent weighting on the total of all subtests except the Situational Judgement Test, which is excluded entirely. Interviews are allocated down that ranking, so the threshold is wherever the interview slots run out rather than a figure set in advance |
| UCAT threshold | No fixed cut-off. Bristol states the interview threshold moves each year with the strength of the cohort, so a score cannot be used to predict an invitation. The 2026 entry cut fell at 2240 home and 2270 overseas |
| UCAT lowest accepted | 2240 (where the 2026 entry cut fell for home applicants, not a pre-set threshold) |
| UCAT average accepted | Unknown. Bristol releases where the cut fell, not the mean or the distribution |
| Interview format | Online interview, assessors asking questions and marking responses separately, held December to February. No offer is made without an interview except in exceptional circumstances |
| Contextual offer | Contextual offers are usually two grades below the standard offer. Bristol's admissions statement records no reduction in UCAT threshold for contextual applicants and does not state how many places are allocated to the route |
| Resits | Accepted for GCSEs and A levels |
| Data status | Places confirmed under FOI2627-023. Application, interview and offer volumes were supplied as a spreadsheet attachment that has not yet been entered |
Source
University of Bristol FOI2627-023, 8 September 2026, and the Bristol medicine admissions statement for 2026 entry cited in that response
Entry requirements
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Country | England |
| Course (UCAS code) | MBChB Medicine (A100) |
| A level | AAA including Chemistry and one of Biology, Physics, Maths or Further Maths |
| Scottish Highers / Advanced Highers | Advanced Highers AA in Chemistry and one of Biology, Physics or Maths; Highers AAAAB |
| IB | 36 points with 18 at HL, including 6,6 at HL in Chemistry and one of Biology, Physics or Maths |
| English language | Covered by GCSE English requirement |
| Resits accepted? | Yes - offer level not stated |
Volumes, places and competition
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Figures cover | All applicants, entry September 2025 (FOI2627-023). Interviewed counts those who ATTENDED - Bristol does not hold the number invited |
| Places | 270 |
| Applications | 1838 |
| Interviewed | 967 |
| Offers | 836 |
| Interviews per place | 3.58 |
| Offers per interview | 0.86 |
| Previous years - application year and UCAT figure | Where the interview cut fell, not a pre-set threshold. 2026 entry (of 2700): 2240 home, 2270 overseas. Bristol states the figure moves each year with the strength of the cohort, so it cannot be used to predict an invitation in a later cycle |
How the UCAT is turned into a score
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Is a UCAT points conversion published? | No points conversion has been published. What the University does say about the UCAT is in the row below. |
| How the UCAT is used, in the University’s own words | Applicants who meet the minimum academic requirements are then scored on the UCAT alone - a 100 per cent weighting on the total of all subtests except the Situational Judgement Test, which is excluded entirely. Interviews are allocated down that ranking, so the threshold is wherever the interview slots run out rather than a figure set in advance Ranked on total cognitive UCAT once the academic minimum is met, with a 100 per cent weighting and no separate points for GCSEs or A levels. The SJT is not used at any stage of shortlisting. The personal statement is no longer a weighted component and now serves only as a final tiebreak when interview and UCAT scores are equal |
Entry requirements and places, as shown on the comparison table
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| SJT - how the band is used | Excluded entirely. The UCAT score is the total of all subtests except the SJT. |
Other undergraduate medicine pages