Where To Apply › Undergraduate medicine › Newcastle
Newcastle — Undergraduate medicine
Figures are on the current UCAT scale of 2700 unless a cell says otherwise.
Newcastle - Medicine
MB BS Medicine (A100)
How this university scores applications, with the figures it publishes.
High level summary
Simple summary. Excruciating detail below.
| Question | Answer |
|---|
| Is there a score to clear? | No. The UCAT is folded into one overall score along with other things, so a lower UCAT can be offset by a stronger score elsewhere, and a high one can be dragged down the same way. |
| How to read the UCAT figures here | A lowest score and an average are both published. Judge yourself against the average. The lowest is one person. |
| What else counts | GCSEs are scored. Good grades earn points here.
The SJT band is scored and adds to your total. Band 4 ends the application whatever the total comes to. |
| Note | Newcastle sets no threshold. It turns GCSEs, A levels and the UCAT into points out of 140, ranks everyone, and interviews down the list, with contextual applicants ranked in a separate pool. Band 4 in the SJT ends the application whatever the total. The lowest scores it publishes describe who was admitted, not a bar: Newcastle can waive its own minimums. |
Academic screen
| Component | Detail |
|---|
| GCSE | No specific requirements, but the best eight grades are scored as part of selection for interview. Scores are normalised if fewer than eight GCSEs were taken |
| UCAT | Points awarded on the total score |
| Combination | Academic points and UCAT points are added to give the ranking |
| SJT | Band 4 rejected |
| International and A101 applicants | Ranked on UCAT score alone, no academic points |
Interview competition
| Group | Applicants per interview slot |
|---|
| Home | 2.5 |
| International | 4 |
GCSE scoring, best eight grades, maximum 40 points
| Grade | Points |
|---|
| 9 | 5 |
| 8 | 4 |
| 7 | 3 |
| 6 | 1 |
| 5 and below | 0 |
UCAT scoring, maximum 60 points - SCALE NOT STATED BY NEWCASTLE, see caution below
| Total UCAT score | Points |
|---|
| 2400 and above | 60 |
| Scale runs downwards in bands | .. |
| 1810 and below | 1 |
Situational Judgement Test points
| SJT band | Points |
|---|
| Band 1 | 5 |
| Band 2 | 3 |
| Band 3 | 1 |
| Band 4 | Rejected |
How the screen works
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Total | GCSE points (max 40) plus A level points (max 40) plus UCAT points (max 60), giving up to 140. SJT band points are added on top |
| Pass mark | None. Applicants are ranked in numerical order and the top scorers are interviewed |
| Separate pools | Standard and contextual applicants are ranked separately |
| International and A101 | Ranked on UCAT score alone |
Interview competition
| Group | Applicants per interview slot |
|---|
| Home | 2.5 |
| International | 4 |
Summary of the selection model
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Scoring approach | Points-based academic screen: best eight GCSEs scored out of 40, best three A levels scored out of 40, and UCAT scored out of 60, giving up to 140, with SJT band points on top. No fixed pass mark: applicants are ranked and the top scorers are interviewed, with standard and contextual applicants ranked separately. International and A101 applicants are ranked on UCAT alone |
| UCAT - how it is used | Up to 60 points awarded on the total UCAT score, from 60 points at 2400 and above down to 1 point at 1810 and below, on the 2700 scale for 2027 entry. SJT adds band 1 = 5 points, band 2 = 3, band 3 = 1; band 4 is rejected. Combined with up to 40 GCSE points and up to 40 A level points to give the academic screen ranking. International and A101 applicants are ranked on UCAT alone |
| UCAT threshold | NO FIXED THRESHOLD. Newcastle confirmed under FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026 that it does not set one and that all applicants are RANKED. Contextual and non-contextual applicants are pooled and ranked separately. The figures once listed here as thresholds are points totals within the combined score, not UCAT cut-offs. International and A101 applicants are ranked on the UCAT alone, with no academic points. |
| UCAT lowest accepted | 2025 entry, LOWEST UCAT held by anyone interviewed, of 3600 (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026). A100 home non-contextual 2510, home contextual 2460, international 2660. At offer stage: 2610, 2570 and 2770. On the current scale that is about 1850, 1820 and 1970 at interview, and about 1930, 1900 and 2050 at offer. A101 home non-contextual 2740 at both stages, about 2030. NEWCASTLE'S OWN CAVEAT: waivers and exceptions may be applied at the admissions team's discretion, and the scores recorded are the applicant's original values, so these are the lowest scores among those admitted rather than a selection threshold. |
| UCAT average accepted | 2025 entry, MEAN total cognitive UCAT, of 3600 (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026). A100 at interview: home non-contextual 2963, home contextual 2841, international 3070. At offer: 3020, 2902 and 3091. A101 2975, 2878 and 3036. On the current scale the contextual means are about 2110 at interview and about 2160 at offer; every other mean converts to above the 9th decile. |
| Interview format | MMI and traditional panel interviews |
| Interview to offer ratio | 2.5 home applicants per interview slot; 4 international per slot |
| Contextual offer | Up to two grades lower for care-experienced, estranged students and free school meals eligibility. PARTNERS completion up to three grades lower (ABB) |
| Resits | One subject repeat allowed, with a higher grade expected on the resit |
| Data status | 2025 entry now COMPLETE under FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026: volumes by fee status and route, and the mean, maximum and minimum UCAT with SJT band counts at both the interview and the offer stage, for A100 and A101. Newcastle holds no decile or quartile distribution. It refused 2026 entry on the ground that the cycle is still in progress, which is wrong: that cycle closed at the October 2025 UCAS deadline. Still outstanding: 2026 entry, and whether the A101 figures given for the offer stage are genuinely identical to the interview stage or were duplicated in error. |
Source
https://www.medschools.ac.uk/courses/mb-bs-medicine-a100/ ; https://www.ncl.ac.uk/mediav8/medical-education/files/admissions-documents/2026%20Admissions%20Policy%20FINAL%20(2).pdf ; https://www.ncl.ac.uk/mediav8/study-with-us/general-documents/mbbs/UCAT%20Thresholds%202025.pdf ; 2027 Admissions Policy, Appendix 1 ; Newcastle University FOI response 2608-27, 18 September 2026, with the 2025 entry Admissions Policy
Caution: which UCAT scale this table uses is not established
| Point | Detail |
|---|
| What the source says | Newcastle's 2026 Admissions Policy gives the table in Appendix 1 and states only that 'Candidates will be awarded up to 60 points based on their total UCAT score.' It does not state the maximum the scale runs to, and does not state which entry year the table applies to. |
| Why it matters | 2400 and 1810 mean completely different things on the two scales. Do not quote this table to an applicant without establishing which scale it is on. |
| If it is the 3600 scale | See 'How this gets resolved' below. The question is settled. |
| If it is the 2700 scale | See 'How this gets resolved' below. The question is settled. |
| Third possibility | See 'How this gets resolved' below. The question is settled. |
| How this gets resolved | RESOLVED. The conversion table in the 2027 Admissions Policy runs from 2400 and above for the maximum 60 points down to 1810 and below for 1 point, in steps of ten. That range is only coherent on the three-subtest 900 to 2700 scale, and 2027 entry is fed by the 2026 test cycle, which is a three-subtest cycle. The table is therefore on the 2700 scale. The separate threshold table of 2820, 2800, 2820 and 2490 covers entry years 2021 to 2024 and is on the 3600 scale. |
A level scoring, best three grades, maximum 40 points
| Grade | Points |
|---|
| A-star | 16 |
| A | 12 |
| B | 8 |
| Note | Three A-stars would score 48, so the cap of 40 bites. General Studies, Use of Mathematics, World Development, Communication and Culture and Critical Thinking are not counted |
Degree scoring, for applicants applying with a degree
| Classification | Points |
|---|
| First class | 40 |
| 2:1 | 36 |
Entry requirements
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Country | England |
| Course (UCAS code) | MB BS Medicine (A100) |
| A level | AAA excluding Use of Mathematics, World Development, Communication and Culture. Practical pass required in Biology, Chemistry, Physics |
| Scottish Highers / Advanced Highers | Highers AAAAA and Advanced Highers AA, which may be taken across multiple sittings |
| IB | Minimum 36 points with grade 5 minimum in all subjects |
| English language | IELTS 7.0 including 7.0 in each of the four elements. Equivalents accepted, and IELTS One Skill Retake is accepted |
| Resits accepted? | Yes, with conditions - one subject only, higher grade expected |
Volumes, places and competition
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Figures cover | A100 and A101, 2025 entry (October 2024 UCAS deadline), home and international, from FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026. UCAT figures on the 3600 scale. |
| Places | 343 |
| Previous years - application year and UCAT figure | 2025 entry, of 3600 (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026). A100 home non-contextual: 757 applications, 610 interviews, 466 offers, 193 registered; mean UCAT 2963 at interview and 3020 at offer. Home contextual: 594, 350, 219, 125; mean 2841 and 2902. International: 439, 119, 103, 30; mean 3070 and 3091. A101 home non-contextual: 232, 82, 46, 22; mean 2975. No threshold in any year - Newcastle ranks. |
How the UCAT is turned into a score
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| Is a UCAT points conversion published? | Yes. The points table is set out on this tab above. |
| How the UCAT is used, in the University’s own words | Up to 60 points awarded on the total UCAT score, from 60 points at 2400 and above down to 1 point at 1810 and below, on the 2700 scale for 2027 entry. SJT adds band 1 = 5 points, band 2 = 3, band 3 = 1; band 4 is rejected. Combined with up to 40 GCSE points and up to 40 A level points to give the academic screen ranking. International and A101 applicants are ranked on UCAT alone Points-based academic screen: best eight GCSEs scored out of 40, best three A levels scored out of 40, and UCAT scored out of 60, giving up to 140, with SJT band points on top. No fixed pass mark: applicants are ranked and the top scorers are interviewed, with standard and contextual applicants ranked separately. International and A101 applicants are ranked on UCAT alone |
Entry requirements and places, as shown on the comparison table
| Item | Detail |
|---|
| SJT - how the band is used | Scored: band 1 adds 5 points, band 2 adds 3, band 3 adds 1. BAND 4 IS NOT ACCEPTED, confirmed again under FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026, so a band 4 ends the application whatever the total. |
Volumes, 2025 entry, by course, fee status and route (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026)
| Course and group | Applications | Invited to interview | Offers | Registered |
|---|
| A100 home, not contextual | 757 | 610 | 466 | 193 |
| A100 home, contextual | 594 | 350 | 219 | 125 |
| A100 international | 439 | 119 | 103 | 30 |
| A101 home, not contextual | 232 | 82 | 46 | 22 |
| A101 home, contextual | 13 | fewer than 5 | fewer than 5 | fewer than 5 |
| A101 international | 54 | 6 | 5 | fewer than 5 |
Interviewed as a share of applications: A100 home not contextual 81 per cent, A100 home contextual 59 per cent, A100 international 27 per cent, A101 home not contextual 35 per cent. Offers as a share of those interviewed: 76, 63, 87 and 56 per cent. Groups of fewer than five were withheld under section 40(2) and 40(3A)(a).
UCAT at interview, 2025 entry, of 3600 (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026)
| Course and group | Mean | Lowest | Highest | Equivalent of 2700, mean then lowest |
|---|
| A100 home, not contextual | 2963 | 2510 | 3460 | above the 9th decile; about 1850 |
| A100 home, contextual | 2841 | 2460 | 3460 | about 2110; about 1820 |
| A100 international | 3070 | 2660 | 3460 | above the 9th decile; about 1970 |
| A101 home, not contextual | 2975 | 2740 | 3380 | above the 9th decile; about 2030 |
| A101 home, contextual | 2878 | 2750 | 3070 | about 2140; about 2040 |
| A101 international | 3036 | 2900 | 3190 | above the 9th decile; about 2150 |
UCAT at offer, 2025 entry, of 3600 (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026)
| Course and group | Mean | Lowest | Highest | Equivalent of 2700, mean then lowest |
|---|
| A100 home, not contextual | 3020 | 2610 | 3460 | above the 9th decile; about 1930 |
| A100 home, contextual | 2902 | 2570 | 3460 | about 2160; about 1900 |
| A100 international | 3091 | 2770 | 3460 | above the 9th decile; about 2050 |
| A101, all groups | as at interview | as at interview | as at interview | Newcastle gave the A101 offer table identical to its interview table. Query raised. |
WHAT THIS SHOWS. The contextual route is worth about 120 points of raw UCAT at interview and about 120 at offer, on the old scale, which is roughly a decile. The lowest contextual applicant interviewed held 2460, about 1820 on the current scale. Every mean except the contextual ones converts to above the 9th decile, so Newcastle admits from a high band even though it sets no threshold. Newcastle warns that the lowest figures describe who was admitted, not a bar, because waivers can be applied.
SJT bands of those interviewed and offered, 2025 entry (FOI 2608-27, response of 18 September 2026)
| Course and group | Band 1 | Band 2 | Band 3 | Band 4 |
|---|
| A100 home not contextual, interviewed | 151 | 264 | 127 | not accepted |
| A100 home contextual, interviewed | 68 | 164 | 102 | not accepted |
| A100 international, interviewed | 22 | 57 | 28 | not accepted |
| A100 home not contextual, offered | 134 | 185 | 80 | not accepted |
| A100 home contextual, offered | 54 | 105 | 44 | not accepted |
| A100 international, offered | 20 | 51 | 21 | not accepted |
| A101 home not contextual | 33 | 37 | 11 | not accepted |
Band 2 is the most common band at both stages in every group, so a band 2 is not a disadvantage here. Band 4 ends the application.
Places, and what Newcastle refused
| Item | Position |
|---|
| Home places | About 343 a year across A100 and A101 together, of which about 25 are A101. The number rolls over a five year period, so unfilled places carry into the following year. |
| International places | About 26 a year across both courses, with no cap on either course separately. |
| Contextual places | No fixed number. Contextual applicants are pooled and ranked separately rather than given a quota. |
| 2026 entry | Refused. Newcastle says the cycle is still in progress because the UCAS cycle does not close until October. That is the 2027 entry cycle. The October 2025 deadline cycle is complete, so this needs putting back to them. |
| Decile or quartile distribution | Not held. Newcastle gave mean, maximum and minimum instead. |
| Small groups | Withheld under section 40(2) and 40(3A)(a) wherever a category held fewer than five people, and marked as such. |
Source
Newcastle University Freedom of Information response 2608-27, 18 September 2026, with the 2025 entry Admissions Policy attached. Request made 18 August 2026.
Other undergraduate medicine pages