CTU

Entry CriteriaUK and Ireland, medicine, GEM and dentistry

Where To Apply › Undergraduate medicine › Leicester

Leicester — Undergraduate medicine

Figures are on the current UCAT scale of 2700 unless a cell says otherwise.

Leicester - Medicine

MBChB Medicine (A100)

How this university scores applications, with the figures it publishes.

High level summary

Simple summary. Excruciating detail below.

QuestionAnswer
Is there a score to clear?No. The UCAT is folded into one overall score along with other things, so a lower UCAT can be offset by a stronger score elsewhere, and a high one can be dragged down the same way.
How to read the UCAT figures hereOnly the lowest score is published. It belongs to one applicant, usually one who was strong somewhere else. Matching it is not the same as being competitive.
What else countsGCSEs are scored. Good grades earn points here. The SJT band is a gate. Clear it; a better band earns nothing more.
The oddsOf every 100 who applied, about 62 were interviewed. (A100, all applicants, 2026 entry. Offers withheld under section 22.)
Where it is decidedBoth stages. About half the field goes before interview, so the score and the interview each do half the work.

Pre-interview weighting

ComponentWeight
UCAT50%
Academic qualifications50%
SJT band 4Not considered

How the threshold works - it is NOT a raw UCAT score

ItemDetail
The scoreLeicester converts the UCAT into points and academic attainment into points and adds them. The interview threshold is that combined total. The conversion tables are PUBLISHED in full in Leicester's 'Scoring of Application for Medicine A100' document, reproduced below.
2026 entry totalsOut of 96 for interview, out of 105 for offer
2025 entry totals32 points UCAT plus 32 points academic, out of 64
Do not compare yearsLeicester states the scoring changed substantially for 2026 with the UCAT scale change, and that scores required in 2023 and earlier are not relevant
What is scoredEight GCSEs for predicted-A-level applicants; three A levels plus degree class for graduates
Achieved A levelsAssessed on UCAT decile rather than points
SJTBands 1 to 3 required on the automatic-interview route

2026 entry interview thresholds, A100 (combined score out of 96)

Applicant groupPredicted A levelsAchieved A levels
Home graduate6870
Home non-graduate79Top 5 UCAT deciles, or 86
Overseas graduate7982
Overseas non-graduate88Top 3 UCAT deciles

2026 entry volumes, A100

GroupApplicationsInterviews
Home graduate10050
Home non-graduate, predicted17431347
Home non-graduate, achieved13496
Overseas graduate256
Overseas non-graduate, predicted511104
Overseas non-graduate, achieved10935
Total26221638

Places, A100

GroupPlaces
Home275
Overseas18
Total293

Contextual and widening access

RouteEffect
Realising Opportunities / UKWPMED completersAutomatic interview if they meet the requirements and sit in the top 7 UCAT deciles
Borderline applicantsAssessed on IMD decile, UCAT bursary flag, carer status, refugee status, local authority care history, free school meals and 16-19 bursary receipt
Separate foundation routeA199 Medicine with Foundation Year is a full widening access course - see its own tab

Position after the further reply of 16 September

ItemStatus
Mean UCAT of applicants interviewed or offeredNot held in a usable form. The University holds only the overall UCAT score against outcomes, so it cannot give a mean total cognitive score without creating new data. The published mean and median are the overall score.
Decile or quartile distributionNot held. Leicester calculates no distributions, deciles or quartiles.
SJT band countsSUPPLIED 16 September, at interview and at offer, for both cycles. See the rows above.
Offers and acceptances, 2026 entryWithheld under section 22 - offer-making runs February to June, so genuinely not yet finalised. The publication date has still not been given.

Summary of the selection model

ItemDetail
Scoring approachA single combined score decides the interview: UCAT points plus academic points. Nothing is a standalone threshold. Scored on eight GCSEs for predicted-A-level applicants, or on three A levels plus degree class for graduates. Realising Opportunities and UKWPMED completers get an automatic interview if they meet the requirements and sit in the top 7 UCAT deciles. Borderline applicants are assessed on IMD decile, UCAT bursary flag, carer status, refugee status, local authority care, free school meals and 16-19 bursary
UCAT - how it is usedScored into points and combined with academic attainment into a single total - for 2025 entry that was 32 points UCAT plus 32 points academic out of 64; for 2026 entry the totals changed to 96 for interview and 105 for offer. Applicants with achieved A levels are assessed on UCAT decile rather than points. SJT band 1 to 3 required on the automatic-interview route
UCAT thresholdNo raw UCAT cut-off. Leicester scores the UCAT into points, combines it with an academic score, and applies the threshold to the combined total. 2026 entry interview thresholds (out of 96): home graduate 68 predicted / 70 achieved; home non-graduate 79 predicted, or top 5 UCAT deciles / 86 if achieved; overseas graduate 79 / 82; overseas non-graduate 88 predicted, or top 3 deciles if achieved. The scoring changed substantially for 2026 with the UCAT scale change, so earlier years are not comparable
UCAT lowest accepted2026 entry: the lowest combined score invited to interview was 68 out of 96 (home graduates, predicted). For home non-graduates with predicted grades it was 79 out of 96
UCAT average acceptedUnknown. Leicester publishes the threshold score needed for interview, not the mean or distribution of those interviewed or offered. Requested under F4665 and not covered by the material cited
Interview formatMMI, in person for home applicants and online for international
Interview to offer ratio2026 entry, A100: 2622 applications, 1638 interviewed, 293 places (275 home, 18 overseas). Offers not yet published - Leicester withheld them under section 22 as they are finalised from February to June
Contextual offerRealising Opportunities and UKWPMED completers receive an automatic interview if they meet the requirements and are in the top 7 UCAT deciles. Borderline applicants are assessed on IMD decile, UCAT bursary flag, carer status, refugee status, local authority care history, free school meals and 16-19 bursary receipt. A separate foundation year course (A199) is a full widening access route with 15 of its 38 places reserved for East Midlands applicants
ResitsYear 12 or Year 13 resits accepted only with admissions tutor approval for significant mitigating circumstances
Data statusComplete for 2026 entry interview data - offer figures withheld under section 22 until published
SJT bands at interviewCounts, A100. 2026 entry: band 1 542, band 2 804, band 3 312. 2025 entry: band 1 295, band 2 860, band 3 477. No band 4 appears in either cycle. F4665.
SJT bands at offerCounts, A100. 2026 entry: band 1 349, band 2 410, band 3 122. 2025 entry: band 1 162, band 2 442, band 3 191. F4665.
Contextual route volumes2026 entry: 80 applicants, 76 interviewed, 46 offered. 2025 entry: 145 applicants, 144 interviewed, 74 offered. Nearly every contextual applicant is interviewed, 95 per cent in 2026 and 99 per cent in 2025. F4665.
UCAT distribution heldNone. The University holds only the overall UCAT score in its database. Subsection scores come in the UCAT download but are not added, so cognitive scores are not recorded against who was interviewed or offered. No distributions or deciles are calculated. Published statistics give mean and median of the overall score only. F4665.
UCAT threshold (further detail)No cut-off. Applicants are selected for interview on UCAT together with prior academic achievement, using the published scoring document. The score needed to secure an interview in previous years is in the published admissions statistics.
2026 entry offersRefused under section 22, information intended for future publication, on the basis that offer numbers will be added to the published admissions statistics once quality assurance is complete.

Source

FOI: University of Leicester F4665, 8 September 2026 (sections 21 and 22) | Web: https://le.ac.uk/medicine/study/mbchb/scoring ; https://le.ac.uk/study/medicine/applying ; https://le.ac.uk/-/media/uol/docs/academic-departments/medicine/study/applying/a100-a199-admissions-statistics-2026-entry---interview.pdf ; https://le.ac.uk/-/media/uol/docs/academic-departments/medicine/study-regulations/a100-2026-scoring-document--final.pdf (published scoring matrix, read 18 September 2026)

FOI F4665, response of 8 September and further reply of 16 September 2026

https://le.ac.uk/study/medicine/applying

https://le.ac.uk/medicine/study/mbchb/scoring

Published admissions statistics, A100, three entry years

From Leicester own published statistics, the documents cited in the section 21 refusal under F4665. The thresholds are COMBINED SCORES on Leicester internal scale, not UCAT scores, and the scale itself changed between these years, so the columns are labelled with what each is out of and must not be read against one another.

Entry yearGroupApplicationsInterviewsOffersInterview thresholdOffer threshold
2026Home graduate, predicted10050n/a68 of 96n/a
2026Home non-graduate, predicted17431347n/a79 of 96n/a
2026Home non-graduate, achieved13496n/aTop 5 UCAT decilesn/a
2026Overseas graduate, predicted256n/a79 of 96n/a
2026Overseas non-graduate, predicted511104n/a88 of 96n/a
2026Overseas non-graduate, achieved10935n/aTop 3 UCAT decilesn/a
2026TOTAL26221638n/an/a
2024Home graduate131651852 of 6475 of 105
2024Home non-graduate, predicted1541121753052.5 of 6474 of 105
2024Home non-graduate, achieved1651134752.5 of 6475 of 105
2024Overseas graduate298155 of 6474 of 105
2024Overseas non-graduate, predicted3751152957.5 of 6474 of 105
2024Overseas non-graduate, achieved133351157.5 of 6474 of 105
2024TOTAL23741553636
2022Home graduate285652658 of 6498 of 120
2022Home non-graduate2793153842458.5 of 64not stated
2022Overseas graduate527357.5 of 6490 of 120
2022Overseas non-graduate51714026not statednot stated
2022TOTAL36471750479

WHAT THE THREE YEARS SHOW. Applications have fallen hard, from 3,647 for 2022 entry to 2,374 for 2024 and 2,622 for 2026, while interview numbers held between 1,553 and 1,750. The proportion of applicants interviewed has therefore risen from 48 per cent to 62 per cent. On the interview threshold, the home non-graduate bar fell from 58.5 out of 64 for 2022 entry to 52.5 out of 64 for 2024, a drop of six points on the same scale, which is the clearest like-for-like softening in these documents. Offers behave differently: 479 for 2022 against 636 for 2024, on fewer applications. Leicester became markedly easier to get an interview at, and easier to get an offer from, across those two cycles. The 2026 offer figures are the ones withheld under section 22 and are still marked n/a here.

A199 Medicine with Foundation Year, the widening access route

Entry yearGroupApplicationsInterviewsOffersInterview thresholdOffer threshold
2026East Midlands, predicted11848n/a75 of 96n/a
2026East Midlands, achieved1811n/aTop 5 UCAT decilesn/a
2026National, predicted45868n/a79 of 96n/a
2026National, achieved9544n/aTop 5 UCAT decilesn/a
2026TOTAL689171n/an/a
2024East Midlands, predicted117321550.5 of 6473 of 105
2024East Midlands, achieved2511154 of 6473 of 105
2024National, predicted334521952 of 6474 of 105
2024National, achieved139603052.5 of 6475 of 105
2024TOTAL61515565
2022East Midlands, predicted112211049 of 6488 of 120
2022East Midlands, achieved2315850.5 of 6489 of 120
2022National, predicted406611751 of 6489 of 120
2022National, achieved109471351 of 6489 of 120
2022TOTAL65014447

A199 IS THE BEST-VALUE ROUTE IN THIS TAB, and the numbers say why. The East Midlands threshold has run one to two points BELOW the national one in every year published, and both sit well below the A100 bar: 50.5 against 52.5 out of 64 for 2024 entry, and 75 against 79 out of 96 for 2026. Achieved-A-level applicants do better still. In 2024 entry, 60 of 139 national achieved applicants were interviewed and 30 were offered, a one-in-two conversion from interview that beats anything on the A100 side. Only 38 places exist, 15 of them reserved for the East Midlands, so the competition is small but the door is genuinely wider. A local widening access applicant should be told to apply to A199 rather than A100.

Source

https://le.ac.uk/-/media/uol/docs/academic-departments/medicine/study/applying/a100-a199-admissions-statistics-2026-entry---interview.pdf

https://le.ac.uk/-/media/uol/docs/academic-departments/medicine/study/applying/a100-a199-admissions-statistics-2024-entry---post-interview-final.pdf

https://le.ac.uk/-/media/uol/docs/academic-departments/medicine/study/applying/a100-a199-admissions-statistics-2022-entry---post-interview-final.pdf

University own published statistics, the documents cited under section 21 in FOI F4665. Read 16 September 2026

PUBLISHED SCORING MATRIX, A100 2026 entry. Leicester publishes this in full.

Total UCAT score (of 2700)Points, standard applicantsPoints, Access applicants
Above 24004824
2350 to 23994723
2300 to 23494622
2250 to 22994521
2200 to 22494420
2150 to 21994319
2100 to 21494218
2050 to 20994117
2000 to 20494016
1950 to 19993915
1900 to 19493814
1850 to 18993713
1800 to 18493612
Below the bottom 2 decilesNot consideredNot considered

GCSE points, A100 2026 entry. Eight scored: English Language, Maths, Chemistry, Biology plus the best four others.

GCSE gradePoints, standard applicantsPoints, Access applicants
964
853
742
631
50Unknown

Maximums, A100 2026 entry: UCAT 48 points and GCSE 48 points for standard applicants, so the 96 point interview threshold is exactly half and half. Graduates score A levels at 12 points for an A-star down to 4 for a C, plus 12 for a first obtained or 8 for a 2:1 obtained, to a 48 point academic maximum. Access candidates are scored out of 76: academic 32, UCAT 24, references 10 and personal statement 10, each marked by two tutors. SJT band 4 is an automatic pre-interview rejection. Contextual factors (IMD decile 1 or 2, UCAT bursary, free school meals for six months or more, 16-19 bursary, carer status, refugee status, three months or more in local authority care) are applied to borderline candidates and again at offer stage rather than as fixed points. Standard offer A-star AA, AAAB, or AAA with a B in an EPQ or fourth AS. Adjusted offers ABB for UKWPMED and AAA for Realising Opportunities or IMD decile 1 with contextual factors.

Entry requirements

ItemDetail
CountryEngland
Course (UCAS code)MBChB Medicine (A100)
GCSEGrade 6 minimum in English Language (first language), Maths, and two sciences (Chemistry, Biology or Double Science)
A levelA*AA including Chemistry or Biology plus one further science/Maths/Psychology; or AAA plus EPQ at B or fourth AS at B; or AAAB across four A levels
Scottish Highers / Advanced HighersAdvanced Highers AAA including Chemistry or Biology plus one further science/Maths/Psychology; or AA in two sciences at Advanced Higher plus AAB at Higher. Highers alone are not considered
IB34 points with 7,6,6 at HL including Chemistry or Biology; or 36 points with 6,6,6 at HL including two sciences
English languageGCSE English Language grade 6 as first language
Resits accepted?Only with mitigating circumstances - tutor approval needed

Volumes, places and competition

ItemDetail
Figures coverA100, all applicants, 2026 entry. Offers withheld under section 22
Places293
Applications2622
Interviewed1638
Interviews per place5.59
Previous years - application year and UCAT figureThresholds are a COMBINED score (UCAT points plus academic points), not a raw UCAT figure, and the totals changed for 2026 entry. 2026 entry, out of 96: home graduate 68 predicted / 70 achieved; home non-graduate 79 predicted, or top 5 UCAT deciles / 86 achieved; overseas graduate 79 / 82; overseas non-graduate 88 predicted, or top 3 deciles achieved. Offer threshold is out of 105 and was not published at the time of the response. For 2025 entry the scheme was 32 points UCAT plus 32 academic out of 64. Leicester states that scores required in 2023 and earlier are not relevant

How the UCAT is turned into a score

ItemDetail
Is a UCAT points conversion published?Yes. Scored into points and added to an academic score. For 2026 entry the interview total is 96 and the offer total 105; for 2025 entry it was 32 points UCAT plus 32 academic out of 64
How the UCAT is used, in the University’s own wordsScored into points and combined with academic attainment into a single total - for 2025 entry that was 32 points UCAT plus 32 points academic out of 64; for 2026 entry the totals changed to 96 for interview and 105 for offer. Applicants with achieved A levels are assessed on UCAT decile rather than points. SJT band 1 to 3 required on the automatic-interview route A single combined score decides the interview: UCAT points plus academic points. Nothing is a standalone threshold. Scored on eight GCSEs for predicted-A-level applicants, or on three A levels plus degree class for graduates. Realising Opportunities and UKWPMED completers get an automatic interview if they meet the requirements and sit in the top 7 UCAT deciles. Borderline applicants are assessed on IMD decile, UCAT bursary flag, carer status, refugee status, local authority care, free school meals and 16-19 bursary

Entry requirements and places, as shown on the comparison table

ItemDetail
SJT - how the band is usedBands 1 to 3 required on the automatic-interview route.